Sunday, 21 September 2008

Jake One Drops White Van Music

I first heard Jake One's production skills on an unreleased remix of MF Doom's Hoe Cakes from a free CD called MM..Leftovers, that was given away with pre orders of Doom's now classic MM...Food. His spin on Hoe Cakes was dope in a more laid back way than the original was. He flipped the track using a crisp snare and a singing sample looped up all the way through it but still keeping the "Super" vocal sample every so often throughout the track.

The next I heard from him was on De La Soul's extra dope Grind date, on which he produced two tracks; Days of our Lives with Common and Rock Co.Kane Flow with Doom. Both tracks are dope and at the same time different to the usual type of track that the Plugs rhyme over.

Jake One has produced tracks for a diverse range of Hip Hop artists including the Strange Fruit Project, Vast Aire, MF Doom, E-40, John Cena, Planet Asia, Nas, and 50 Cent. Well now Jake One is about to drop his own album and the list of lyricists on it is one of the most interesting line ups I've seen in a long time. The album is called White Van Music and the track list is below;

1. I'm Coming featuring Nottz & Black Milk
2. Gangsta Boy featuring M.O.P.
3. Truth, The featuring Freeway/Brother Ali
4. Turn It Down [Interlude]
5. God Like featuring D. Black
6. Bless The Child featuring Little Brother
7. Oh Really featuring Slug and Posdnuos
8. Hi [Interlude]
9. Trap Door featuring MF Doom
10. Dead Wrong featuring Young Buck
11. Kissin The Curb featuring Busta & Bishop Lamont
12. How We Ride featuring Freeway
13. White Van featuring Evidence, The Alchemist & The Prodigy
14. Big Homie Style featuring Evidence, The Alchemist & The Prodigy
15. Scared featuring Blueprint
16. Great Sound [Interlude]
17. Get 'Er Done featuring MF Doom
18. Feeling My Shit featuring Casual
19. Soil Raps featuring Keak Da Sneak
20. Glow featuring Elzhi & Royce Da 5'9"

Now that is a sick line up, now only does it include hardcore underground emcees like MF Doom, Casual, Brother and Royce but then you've got people like Busta, Freeway, Posdanous, Prodigy and M.O.P. The Line up alone demands that this album be purchased not too mention that the beats are dope too. Jake One's style is hard but at the same time mellow and melodious. Below is a link for Jake One's Hoe Cakes remix and Gansta Boy featuring M.O.P. taken from White Van Music.

Hoe Cakes Jake One Remix
Gangsta Boy featuring M.O.P.

No comments: