Thursday, 16 December 2010

New Tuggawar Mix By DJ Diablo AKA Rebel EYE

A sick mix by my man DJ Diablo AKA Rebel Eye, check the tracklist below.

1. Intro
2. Weave And Dread Off
3. Beat It Featuring Gappy Ranks
4. My Life
5. No Long Talk 2011 (Kush Riddim)
6. Have To Make It
7. Hello, Good Morning
8. SupaTugg (Diablo Refix)
9. Tug She Want
10. Hold Dem Ya Featuring Singer J
11. Final Burial
12. Fi Dayz
13. Dem Say War Featuring Shabba D
14. Bazooka
15. Inna Real Life Featuring Ruddy Irie
16. London Anthem (Diablo Refix)
17. Public Service Announcement
18. Anything Mi Say (Criminology)
19. Tuggy Shot Ya!
20. Serial Killer
21. Request To Di Farmer (I Swear)
22. Fallen Soldiers Featuring Dean Chohan
23. Outro

A sick blend of Hip Hop and Reggae from one of the London's dopest DJs. Check him out on the FunHouse alongside DJ MK, Mr Thing and Harry Love.

Download the mix here

Tuesday, 14 December 2010

Strong Arm Steady and Pete Rock

Strong Arm Steady, often referred to as SAS, have been bubbling under the surface of California's underground hip hop scene for sometime now and most serious hip hop fans will be aware of them. The act consists of members Mitchy Slick of San Diego, California, and (both of Los Angeles) Phil Da Agony and probably the most visually distinct member, Krondon. Originally an amorphous collective of at least eight, formed as an alternative to the gang-focused productions of West Coast rap's then-dominant Death Row Records, SAS pared down to four members for recording in the studio and performing live, with Xzibit as the frontman. Since he left the group in 2006, the three remaining members have been a stable trio.
Talib Kweli signed Strong Arm Steady to his Blacksmith Records label in 2007. In 2009 the group announced two albums for late 2009 to 2010 release: The first is a collaboration with producer Madlib, In Search of Stoney Jackson, with a roster of guests including Kweli, Planet Asia, Guilty Simpson, Phonte (of Little Brother), Fashawn, and "a host of underground Los Angeles's emerging rap talent". Stoney Jackson, as it has been called for short, was released online as MP3 files in December 2009 through Stones Throw Records, with a CD release date of January 26, 2010. The second 2010 album will be Arms & Hammers (with an exact release date not published as of December 2009). The release, originally slated for 2009, has been delayed because Warner Brothers dropped Blacksmith from their distribution roster due to the recession.
On Arms and Hammers they have a more diverse gathering of producers including the Chocolate Boy Wonder, Pete Rock. The joint Pete gave them, "Makings Of You" is the based on the same sample that he used for Kanye and Jay-Z's "The Joy". The Kanye joint "The Joy" was only an internet track anyway and never made it to the final version of "My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy". Pete has said on a number of occasions that this was a beat made in the mid nineties and he has made considerable changes to it since Kanye and Jay spat on it. The Strong Arm Steady version has more depth to it and a nice little piano loop that wasn't on the Kanye version. Strong Arm's lyrics are totally different than Kanye's but still enjoyable and the Curtis Mayfield sample works just as well. Check the link below for both versions, which at the moment seem like they will remain internet only tunes for the time being.

The Joy / Makings Of You

Thursday, 9 December 2010

DJ Premier Presents Year Round Records:Get Used to Us

DJ premier, easily in my opinion the Best Hip Hop producer ever has finally given us what we have been asking for The Year Round Records Presents: Get used to Us album. The album features a whole host of underground Emcees and is produced by Premier part from two tracks; one produced by Show and the other by Brenks. Some of the tracks on the album have been heard before and some haven't. Check the track-list below
1. Blaq Poet-”Bang Dis !”
2. NYG’z-”Policy”
3. Nick Javas-”Opportunity Knoccs”
4. Khaleel-”Hot Flames”
5. Dynasty-”Epic Dynasty”
6. MC Eiht-”Fine By Me” – prod by – Brenks
7. Young Maylay-”Temptation”
8. Krs-One (f. Grand Puba)-”5%”
9. NYG’z (f. Lady Of Rage, Bumpy Knuckles, Royce da 5’9″) – “Ya Dayz R #’D” (NYGemix)
10. Joell Ortiz-”Sing Like Bilal” (Version 3)(Bonus Track)
11. Tef (f. Styles P)-”Married 2 The Game”
12. Nick Javas-”Not A Game”
13. Blaq Poet (f. MC Eiht, Young Maylay)-”Ain’t Nuttin Changed” (Remix)
14. Tef (f. Saigon, Papoose)-”Lifetime Membership”
15. Khaleel (f. Panchi of NYG’z)-”Rappin’ Exercise” – prod by – Show
16. Freddie Foxxx-”The Gang Starr Bus”

Below is a link to the Teflon track featuring Saigon and Papoose
Lifetime Membership

Dope track for a good cause by Greg Blackman

Save The Wax featuring Genesis Elijah & Bohze. Produced by DJ Moneyshot. by Greg Blackman This here is a dope track worth picking up f...